top of page

Sneak Peek at Exitus


My body moved of its own accord, instinct and the need to protect what was mine taking over. My own scythe appeared, and I hadn’t realised I’d summoned it. My training gear gave way to reveal the tattered dress I’d worn the night I’d received my powers as I blurred across the room. Hair streaming behind me, fog burst from beneath my feet as my arm reached down, the scythe merely an extension of it.

Obsidian sparks erupted as our scythes connected, the blast lifting the observers in the room off their feet. Teeth bared, I merged fully with that ancient part of me. I bent low, my talons puncturing holes in the mat to the left of Erick’s head.

I was ready to play, but was Death?

Pulling back his scythe, Death hissed furiously. “You would dare come between me and my prey?”

“You issued the challenge the second you attempted to take my mate’s life. You will deal with me now, your fight with him is done.” Mouth never opening, my voice crept from the fog now coating the room.

Straightening up, I stepped over a seething Erick. I could see his need to argue my interruption, but he remained silent at the concerned look I gave him.

“You dare to threaten me, fledgling.” The room darkened at the corners, forcing the vampires still climbing to their feet to crawl forward and closer to the stage for fear of being consumed by that blackness.

“You should know by now, Death, I don’t threaten. I make promises and deliver them. You’ve lost yourself to the seduction of the fight. You challenged my mate knowing very well he does not possess the power you do. Well, guess what Grandpa, I possess those gifts. I protect those I love, and he is at the top of my list, so BACK THE FUCK OFF!” I roared I released my scythe back onto my necklace, silently setting the terms of our combat.

“So be it, little one. But you should know I was fully aware of what I was doing. You will know when and if I become seduced by battle.”

His own scythe disappeared and we met in a clash of wills. Jordan’s words of wisdom beat through my mind.

Fight dirty, or go home in a coffin.

Nailing Death in the balls with one swift kick, I delivered a roundhouse kick to his gut. The surprise and pain on his face was wiped by my right hook that hit him square in the jaw, obliterating it. I studied my great Grandfather as he reached up to snap his jaw back into place.

The speed at which he was healing was breathtaking.

A look of glee replaced his surprise. He stepped forward, extending his own leg at the last second, it landed solidly in my gut. I latched onto that foot, standing my ground. This wasn’t a training session anymore; this was life or death - Erick’s life.

A ragged gasp from my mother brought my head up only to come face to face with the last person I wanted to see — Brian. Fear hammered at the power coursing through me as Brian’s face grinned demonically down at me. His fist smashed down and into my cheek bone. I dropped to the floor immobilized by more than the hit I’d just sustained.

Out of the corner of my eye I caught sight of Tristan and my mother held Erick back as he roared furiously, fighting to be at my side. Jordan stood still, his fists clenched tightly, yet unwilling to move, knowing this was what I needed. The scales on his bicep swayed between life and death, never settling on either.

“Your weakness, little girl, is that you live in the past. Always moping and crying about the things that cannot be changed. You will die with those words engraved into your tombstone, if you’re lucky enough to get one. You are pandering to human weaknesses, that have no right being in your new life.” Death taunted with Brian’s voice.

“Evanee, get off your ass and nail him. You’re not that naive girl you were in that parking lot all those years ago. MOVE!” Reagan bellowed at me.


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page