top of page

Longing

It's fair to say that the past two months have earned their place in my little book of 'Times From Hell'. The old saying 'when it rains, it pours' couldn't be truer.

Not to worry though, as is always the case it will eventually pass. I just need to hang on for dear life, and maybe close my eyes at some points in the hope that my inner control freak will loosen its grip just a little.

Confession time. There was a point in my life where I craved the drama. The thrill of the unexpected exciting, the adrenaline of an impending argument exhilarating, but that changed the day I met my other half. I kid you not, my husband is my other half in every possible way, except when it gets to action and superhero movies - oh and Supernatural. It's been said by more than one person that Hubby has a calming effect on me. I am the epitome of zen when he's around. This man gets me, and has made me feel as if I belong somewhere. I've spent so many years feeling adrift, apart and yes on more than one occasion not loved. He's pulled me back from that dark abyss on more than one occasion, and I couldn't be more grateful. He'll play down my praises, because he's humble, but that doesn't make them any less true. I'm not saying he's perfect, but darn it, he is perfect for me. Anyway, I could go on, but that's not what this piece is about. Mmmm I wonder if he'll let me write our story one day????

I no longer seek the drama I once sought. As I am getting older I am finding that I often feel the need to escape when the shit hits the fan. I need time to reset and heal. I won't lie, the past four years have been rough for me emotionally, and I'm struggling to heal. Que the longing.

I've been dropping some pretty strong hints to hubby lately that I'd love nothing more than to move to Tasmania. We had the best time there when we last visited, and I long for the friendly people, beautiful scenery and gorgeous produce. There is something about Tasmania that calls to my heart. I know he feels the same way. Could it be that we just need a holiday away from everything, just us and our two babies? I'd say that's a strong possibility. There's a part of me that longs to see the beautiful buildings between Hobart and Launceston. I loved walking the grounds at Port Arthur, appreciating the history and respecting the sorrow that lingers within its sprawling grounds to this day. I can't forget the divine wine and gorgeous scenery. Yup, I'm in love with Tasmania.

Seeing as I won't be able to get back to all the gorgeousness in the picture above any time soon, I'll continue to practice some mindfulness and gratitude until the day I can once again set my feet on that little piece of heaven. So here's a shout out to Tasmania. I hope to see you again soon.


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page