top of page

Oh my gosh look at...

That food......

Ha I bet you thought I was going to finish that sentence differently. I'm also betting you all thought I was going to title this blog 'Food, glorious food'. While this blog will most certainly be about food, and my love for it, I just couldn't bring myself to give it an over used title.

Now back to the important stuff. Food. It's a little known fact amongst those who know me, that I love food. Okay I'm not in love with food, I'm obsessed with it. Yeah I can be a tiny bit fussy and have some allergies (thanks endometriosis), but in general I seriously love food. I literally have a second stomach commonly known as the dessert stomach, my husband has repeatedly voiced his astonishment at my ability to somehow fit dessert in no matter where we go. Hey I can't help it, a girl needs her chocolate at the end of a great night. Apparently, my mother and sister have this fantastic ability too.

Home made chocolate madness

Eating food is not my only love, I also enjoy cooking and baking. There is something incredibly satisfying about creating something from a bunch of fresh ingredients, then seeing the look on peoples faces as they tuck in. Their faces literally light up, some (like me) close their eyes savouring each individual element within the dish, or the overall flavour combination. Pure bliss. Being from South Africa originally I have an intense love of herbs and spices, which really does come in handy when I'm whipping up a storm in the kitchen. I don't often cook by recipe, bake maybe, but not cooking. I'm a taste and adjust kind of a girl, unless it's something complex. What can I say, even I have my limits.

This love of food, I will admit has flowed into my book. My character shares my love of food and cooking. Unlike me however, she prefers fresh Asian dishes, which I do enjoy, but I'm all about pasta and Mexican dishes. Give me that heat and spice baby. Family and friends always know they can count on me too cook up a feast if they're coming over for a meal. I literally cook for an army. I don't know how to cook for one or two people. Try as I might, I always end up cooking for 4-6 people. It's both a curse and a blessing. Hey rather have too much food, than not enough is my motto.

The thought did cross my mind to tie all this talk of food in with food for the soul, but that would be taking away from food itself. I mean come on, FOOD, the stuff nourishes our bodies. It brings us together socially and emotionally. I'm actually thinking of a 90's movie Simply Irresistible here. Man I wish I could cook like Sarah Michelle Gellar in that movie. Culturally, it's a brilliant way to bridge the gap, bringing two vastly different cultures together. Romantically, well let's just say a lot of fun and memorable times can be created sharing food with your partner.

I'm guessing by now you have all guessed the way to my heart. Bring me food and I'll likely forgive you for almost anything. Almost. You need to bribe me to do something for you, yup you guessed it, Food. Just make sure it's gluten free or I may cry at not being able to eat it.

Potjie, best way to cook a meal outdoors. South African meets Aussie


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page