top of page

To Each Their Own

With Valentines day fast approaching it seems appropriate to reflect on this day of 'Romance'. For some rhyme or reason there always seems to be quite a lot of pressure for the males to deliver some massively romantic gesture, in a bid to reassure his partner just how much he values and loves her. Because nothing says I love you like a pair of diamond earrings; perfume; lingerie; flowers and chocolate. Que eye rolling.

Well not this female. Okay yes I love chocolate, scratch that, I am obsessed with chocolate, especially hot chocolate. Oh goodness yes. Bring on the flood of endorphin. Flowers, well okay, but buy me an actual potted flower so I can get more than a week out of the darn thing. As for the diamonds and perfume, well hey I don't think diamonds are a girls best friend, give me an aquamarine, yellow or blue sapphire or even a coloured topaz. Perfume, let's not even go there. Material gifts are lovely and all, but hello, the best gift your partner can give you is their time and attention. Trust me.

You don't realise just how valuable that time and attention is until you pop out little ones. They suck the energy right out of the both of you, so that just reaching the end of the day with your sanity intact automatically qualifies you for the Nobel Peace Price. Okay, yes we all have our own definition of romance, for some it's the whole candle light dinner with roses and all that jazz. For me though, it's always been about being selfish and hogging my man all to myself. No distractions just us. After 13 years, it hasn't changed, only the methods on how I achieve this have changed. After two kids, simply sitting down and being in each others presence is like winning the lotto for me.

Originally this Valentines day was destined to be like quite a few before it, ignored. So when hubby suggested we do something a little different, I must admit I was pleasantly surprised. Okay fine I was down right beside myself. So we have decided to celebrate our V-day day later, with no gifts except our time together as a couple, just the two of us. Que Will Smith's crooning. With this in mind, here are a few of the pluses for me:

1. It's just us. Winner winner chicken dinner.

2.We are headed to the city for lunch, which is way cheaper and less hectic than dinner on the actual day. Plus no fighting to get a reservation.

3. He's accompanying me to not only my old University's library, but the Mortuary Facility. (My man knows how much I love books, and how important it is for me to finish my book.)

Seriously,

I married my dream man.

Yup I think that's it. I don't see any down sides, because I have no interest in looking for any. We are who we are, I don't need hearts and roses, just my man. If I want soppy romance that has me weeping I'll read a romance novel. Otherwise I am set. Only other thing I'd ask for is a hotel room and a night away from the kids; but only one night because my anxiety would probably kick in.

So to those who have someone enjoy your day, if you celebrate it. To those who are single, grab a romance novel and movie (Deadpool or Sleepless in Seattle work) and enjoy some time with your book boyfriend or TV boyfriend.


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page